All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten

RF

Pretty much a book worm that I am, I’ve decided to have a little review about this book by Robert Fulghum.

I first learned about this when I was reading Bob Ong’s very first book, “ABNKKBSNPLAko?!”. In here, the book was introduced as one of his inspirations in writing. I was curious so I searched for it and I was actually expecting that these two books have the same topic but they aren’t.

It is an inspirational book about life. It isn’t the typical type of self-help inspirational where in there are a lot of enumerations but a kind of pretty much an essay about life. No standard format, not so many dramas. It is a free-written collection of essays from the author’s memories as he goes along the journey we called life. He pointed out that the things we learned in our kindergarten days are somehow the lessons we really should know as we get older. I got him there as I believe that lessons from our childhood are the basic ways of just reminding us what we should always remember.

I do like the way of his writing, the way he tells the stories and the way he remembers it. Because I’m a fan of essay writers who just writes stories freely as if they were telling it verbally, I love his writings even more. It was Bob Ong’s book who inspired me to write and create a blog, and Fulghum is his inspiration in writing, so now I get the point on how writers inspired another writer and inspired an aspiring (frustrated) writer like me. How I wish some day that I can write freely without worrying about how it sounds, the correct grammar or is this interesting enough. I don’t want to be that kind of writer. I want to be the kind that tells as she writes.

So now, I am trying to reorganize my thoughts, recreate the drive to do the things that I want and love not just writing but all the things that makes me happy. Reading this book helps me to recall all of that. The author and his stories are such inspirations, I recommend you to read it.

“It doesn’t matter what you say you believe – it only matters what you do.”  -Robert Fulghum

Signature

Leave a Reply

