Her (2013)

Weeks ago, I watched this movie entitled “Her” by Spike Jonze. I came across it when Joyce Pring posted on Instagram a line from this movie. It made me curious so I googled it instantly. It’s been a while since I see these kind of genre films, especially love stories with an eccentric touch.

My thoughts? Just like the other reviews I’ve read, I also appreciate the concept of the story. It’s not the ordinary. I don’t want to spoil it but a human being who fell in love with his operating system? How cool is that, really? It’s not even on the level of a sci-fi film but it’s more on the romantic-drama side. It’s something emotional despite the modernized time setting.

Aside from the story itself, I absolutely love how warm the tones used in the film. The concept is futuristic but it’s almost vintage because of the colors. The music and the screen shots are really great. I just love Rooney Mara here, she’s so feminine, gentle and very pretty. I kept listening to Karen O’s songs ever since I saw this film. I really like her rendition of  The Moon Song.

Sharing some of the screen shots that I like from the film: (from Google)

I’ve been thinking of seeing other Spike Jonze films since I really enjoyed this one. I highly recommend watching this. 🙂 And what’s nice the way of ending a movie review is sure some quotable lines from the film. This was the one that caught my attention and decided to watch it.

It’s like I’m reading a book… and it’s a book I deeply love. But I’m reading it slowly now. So the words are really far apart and the spaces between the words are almost infinite. I can still feel you… and the words of our story… but it’s in this endless space between the words that I’m finding myself now. It’s a place that’s not of the physical world. It’s where everything else is that I didn’t even know existed. I love you so much. But this is where I am now. And this who I am now. And I need you to let me go. As much as I want to, I can’t live your book any more.

Signature

2 thoughts on “Her (2013)

Leave a Reply

