Awesome Things (Candy’s Version)

How ironic that this blog is titled as “Everyday Essay” when I don’t really write an essay everyday. Not here and not in my journal. Because when we take things literally, we will have a very complicated life. Just kidding, but it’s somehow true. Right?

Anyway, if I you will ask me what will be my everyday essay, I will tell you that I have a pretty much life in routine. Waking up early and taking the bus to the office five days a week. At night, I log in to the internet (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr, Pinterest, etc.) and browse everything on my feed. During the weekends, I hang out with my boyfriend. We go out sometimes but most of the time we stay at home bumming around (movies and series marathon). When the schedule’s are right, I got to hang out with some of my friends. When there’s an event, I attend when I feel like. Yeah, kinda lame for an essay entry.

 When each day is the same as the next, it’s because people fail to recognize the good things that happen in their lives  every day that the sun rises. –The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho

Seldom, I find myself in frustration. Because I must admit I fail to recognize the little and simple things that happens to me every day. I tend to stress myself out because I find my every day life boring, and I feel like I don’t really live the kind of life I imagine. When there’s something out of the ordinary that happens, I categorize it as special. When it’s not different at all, then it’s like nothing happens.

It’s already a special thing that you are able to wake up in the morning, that you have another day to be alive. A breakfast cooked by your mom is already special. A cold water after a long journey to work is already special. A “how are you” message from a dear friend is already special. A task done is already special. A good night sleep is already special.

Even though, it’s the same routine that you’re doing everyday, there’s always that one good thing about every day. It’s not necessary for things to be extravagant, different and expensive for you to consider it as one. What’s  important is how you see things and how it makes you feel. Sometimes, it’s the simple things in life that make it more worthwhile. Even though the big ones aren’t there yet to come, learn to recognize and appreciate the little ones. You’ll still find life awesome.

1000 Awesome Things, I find this website few years ago and I’m completely happy when I’m reading it. The list is converted into a book (wishing one day I will have it). It reminds me of the simple things in our lives that is real awesome. And at some point in the past, I listed down some. Things that really make me smile.

  • A sunset
  • A sunrise
  • A full moon
  • A smiling moon (crescent)
  • A complete 8-hour sleep
  • A favorite song that is suddenly played on the radio
  • Ice cream
  • Lasagna and pizza
  • Chocolates
  • A camera click
  • A book to read
  • Everything red
  • A break
  • Breathing

And a lot more. See? It’s so simple right? Try to list down your own awesome things and you’ll feel great. 🙂

 

Signature

Leave a Reply

